Assignment 9: Depth of Field

This weekend, my mother came to visit me, and I had the opportunity to use her as my model for this assignment. I had a lot of trouble trying to show depth of field on my point-and-shoot, so this was the best I ended up with, after what were  hundreds of photos.

Vicki Tyler enjoys her morning hot tea in her daughter's home in Fort Worth, Texas while visiting her on March 25, 2013. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

Vicki Tyler enjoys her morning hot tea in her daughter’s home in Fort Worth, Texas while visiting her on March 25, 2013. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

Now this photo isn’t completely sharp, because I was trying to get SOMETHING out of focus and something into focus, but to no avail. Here are other shots of my mother though:

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

I followed Professor Hart’s advice in taking pictures of my mother because it is rare when I take a photo of her, partly because we are not exactly a photo-taking family and partly because she’s usually the one behind the camera. I’m pretty excited just to have these photos of her now, and I plan to use her as my photo model next time I see her.

I took advantage of the morning window light in my house, which I thought made her skin tones look great and the colors soft. I had planned on taking photos outside, but since it was frigidly cold, we stayed inside to take photos.

I had my ISO on 100, which was definitely ideal for the window light.

Although I’m not thrilled with how my depth of field assignment turned out, I am glad to have photos of my mother!

Leave a Reply

