Assignment 7: Fill-Flash Photo

Molly Jones, a senior English major at Texas Christian University, waits outside of TCU's Moudy building before her sports journalism class on March 3, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

Molly Jones, a senior English major at Texas Christian University, waits outside of TCU’s Moudy building before her sports journalism class on March 4, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

For this assignment, we were supposed to use the flash properly to make illuminate the photo rather than wash people out with an insanely bright flash. I asked my friend Molly to model for me and photographed her around 6:15 p.m. outside of Moudy. I think I waited a little too late on the sunset, since it’s almost too dark to notice it in the background. I found it difficult figuring out how close or far away I needed to be from her to keep the flash from darkening the background too much. This photo was definitely the best one I made, and I think I need more practice with fill-flash before I try it for TCU 360 or another publication. I may even need to go to Professor Hart’s lighting workshop.

Leave a Reply

