Assignment 6: Environmental Portrait

Finding a friend with such a distinctive environment was a challenge. I called up my friend Hillary and asked if I could use her as my model for my environmental portrait assignment. She has a huge photo wall with photos from her beachy home of Corpus Christi, Texas. Hillary loves surfing and the beach and her photo wall shows that.

Hillary Dupriest, a junior strategic communication major at Texas Christian University, stands in front of her Fort Worth apartment's photo wall inspired by her love of surfing the beaches in her home town of Corpus Christi, Texas on February 25, 2013. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

Hillary Dupriest, a junior strategic communication major at Texas Christian University, stands in front of her Fort Worth, Texas apartment’s photo wall inspired by her love of surfing the beaches in her home town of Corpus Christi, Texas on February 25, 2013. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

The lighting situation was difficult because I wanted dramatic lighting but I didn’t want there to be any underexposure or overexposure. I removed the lampshade from her bedside table lamp and turned off the overhead light. The above photo is what I ended up with for this assignment!

For my photo assignment for TCU 360 this week, I took photos of the TCU BYX Date Auction. The event was held in the BLUU Ballroom and was a fundraiser for Texas Refugee Services. The members of the fraternity dressed up in silly costumes or swanky suits and strutted their stuff on the stage while the MCs auctioned their dates off. Dates from a Rangers game to the NEEDTOBREATHE and Ben Rector concerts helped raise over $4,000. The following are some of the photos I took:

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

 

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

 

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

(TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

 

Leave a Reply

