Photo Assignment 4: Action

Chloe Burgoon, a senior strategic communications major at Texas Christian University, jumps on her backyard trampoline on Feb. 10, 2013. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

Chloe Burgoon, a senior strategic communications major at Texas Christian University, jumps on her backyard trampoline on Feb. 10, 2013. (TCU Photo/Alex Tyler)

 

After the major storm Saturday night, I was worried that it would be difficult to get an action shot on Sunday. However, it was sunny–a  little too sunny– and I went to my friend Chloe’s house to take photos of her jumping on her trampoline. I probably took 100 photos; most of them were of Chloe with her hair crazy and in her face, but since it’s seriously encouraged to show faces in photojournalism, I chose the photo above for this assignment.

I had my ISO at 80 and a neutral exposure on my Olympus point-and-shoot. Figuring out lighting in her backyard was definitely an issue because it was shade when Chloe was just standing on the trampoline, but when she jumped, her face would be lit up with the light coming over the roof of the house. So I moved all over the yard, and decided that having Chloe backlit would probably be my best option for the light available.

After getting back to my house to upload the photos, I did straighten the photo so that the background porch railing would be straight. I definitely do understand now how difficult it is to get a good action shot because of all the things you have to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

